Mystery, Marriage, and Death by Research

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

I refused to read The Da Vinci Code (2003) by Dan Brown and number 42 on the BBC book list for a long time.  It was a bestseller and everybody was talking about it.  Some annoying celebrity on Oprah, when shown at her posh home lounging on a snow-white couch and reading a book, had The Da Vinci Code between her perfectly manicured hands; this sealed that sense of disgust toward the book for me.  I tend to reject what is popular when it comes to fiction.  I’m not sure why, but I do.  I’m usually disappointed when I try it, and it solidifies, for me, the fact that I think differently and care about different things when it comes to books than the masses.

Well, I was wrong.  I really liked it.  I finally sat down with it, likely during the summer when I had lots of time to…

View original post 1,210 more words

Leave a Reply

