World Literature and Othering

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

As I mentioned in my post on The Kite Runner, I took a world literature class while working on a Master’s degree in English.  I was so excited for the class, and my background as an editor of a daily document about the worldwide security situation prepared me for knowing a little bit about the countries of the authors whom I would read.  We also had to create reports about those countries, and because I had already done that in my former job for most of the countries of the world, that report and presentation was delightful and seemingly easy.

We read a selection of short stories from different authors.  I don’t remember the specific titles and I no longer have them.  I think the professor gave us photocopies of them—not necessarily ethical.  But I do have some of the books from the course, and I wanted to highlight…

View original post 936 more words

Leave a Reply

